The 32-year-old defeated about 80 others in the 9th edition of the race on Saturday to win the 42km race and clinch the $50,000 prize money.

The East Africans dominated the race as two other Kenyans, Simon Cheprot and Edwin Kiptoo, came second and third, with cash prizes of $40,000 and $30,000 respectively.

The Kenyans won the marathon in 2016, 2017, 2020 and 2021.

More so, 25-year-old Ethiopian, Kebene Chala, was the first woman to cross the finish line.

Shehu Muazu was the first Nigerian to cross the finish line and will be going home with a N1 million cash prize.

The 42km race, which was scheduled between 5 a.m. and 2 p.m. began at the National Stadium in Surulere and ended at the Eko Atlantic City in Victoria Island.

The Lagos State Government, through the Commissioner for Transportation, Mr. Oluwaseun Osiyemi, on Friday, issued a traffic advisory ahead of the yearly Access Bank Lagos City Marathon.